Chesapeake Bay District Award Nominations 2013 (Unit Leader, District Award of Merit, & Spark Plug) ALL Award Nominations are due by Jan 17, 2014

Please consider nominating some of your fellow Chesapeake Bay District Scouters for one of the following awards to be given at the Chesapeake Bay District Annual Adult Leader **Recognition Dinner February 9, 2014.**

District Award of Merit (Chesapeake Bay may give 2 awards this year.)



This is a Council Award for service of an outstanding nature at district level, and noteworthy service to youth, both inside and outside of scouting. Normally, the award is presented for service to youth in excess of five years. Scouters are nominated by fellow scouters and chosen by the Chesapeake Bay District Awards Committee. (You may get a copy of this form at http://www.scouting.org/forms.aspx. [Since it is not appropriate to nominate a Scouter who has already received this award, a list of previous Chesapeake Bay District Award of Merit recipients is included.]

Unit Leader of the Year (The number of awards each year is determined by the quantity and guality of applications. This year we plan to recognize up to 4 Troops, 4 Packs, and 1 Crew.)

The Unit Leader of the Year Award is given for outstanding service above and beyond an individual's registered position. Scouters are nominated by their fellow scouters, and the District Awards Committee determines the awardees based upon the strength and depth of service documented in the nomination package. A form is attached, or one can be obtained at the Council Service Center or the CVC website.

Golden Spark Plug Award (Unit selects. One award per unit. Name of recipient must be turned in NLT Jan 17, 2014 for them to be recognized at the dinner.)

Golden Spark Plugs may be given to one adult in each unit for putting the "spark" of enthusiasm into scouting. The nominee is chosen by the Unit Committee or Unit Committee Chairman, and approved by CB District Awards Committee. This individual does not have to be a registered scouter (i.e. parent or community member who has contributed in an outstanding way to the unit).

Nomination forms are attached and may be reproduced. Watch the Colonial Virginia Council Newsletter for more information.

The recognition dinner is a great time for your Unit's committee to say "thank you" to all of the volunteers who help make scouting happen in your unit and District. Even if you cannot attend the dinner, please remember to submit ALL Award Nominations (Unit Leader, District Award of Merit, and Spark Plug) by January 17, 2014.

You may mail or e-mail the completed nomination forms, turn them in to the council office, or bring to January District Roundtable.

> E-mail: karensutlev@cox.net with Chesapeake Bay District Award Nominations 2013 in subject line or mail to: Karen Sutley, CB District Recognition Chair 315 Patriot Way Yorktown, VA 23693 For further information, please call Karen at (757) 209-7989.

<u>Chesapeake Bay District</u> <u>Unit Leader of the Year Award Nomination Form</u>

This award is made for distinguished and outstanding service to our youth within the territory under the jurisdiction of the Colonial Virginia Council, Boy Scouts of America. Nominee must be a registered adult leader with a unit in the Chesapeake Bay District, in any leadership position within the unit. The District Awards Committee will select the awardees based upon the strength and depth of service documented in the nomination package. More than one scouter can be nominated from any unit. For 2013, CB District will recognize up to 4 troop leaders, 4 pack leaders, and 1 crew leader.

I recommend for the Chesapeake Bay Unit Leader of the Year

ouse's Name, if applicable
a Scouter:

State the reasons why you believe the nominee's service has been outstanding <u>as a Unit Scouter</u>. (Although length of service receives consideration it is more important that the service be of an outstanding nature, i.e. more than just doing their job.) Note any additional information you want to bring to the attention of the awards committee (i.e., community activities other than Scouting, awards, other service in scouting outside of your unit, etc.)

Please comment fully giving *examples* of outstanding leadership (use additional paper if needed):

Submitted by	 _
Address	
Your position in scouting	
Your phone number	ation was received by the committee)

The Committee will treat the information received in the recommendation as strictly confidential.

Applications must be in by Jan 17th, 2014

Please forward nominations to: Karen Sutley, CB District Recognition Chair, 315 Patriot Way, Yorktown, VA 23693 <u>or</u> send via e-mail: <u>karensutley@cox.net</u> or bring to Roundtable



Packs, troops, and crews of Chesapeake Bay District are permitted to recognize <u>one</u> adult who has made outstanding contributions to Scouting through their unit. The adult does not have to be a registered member of BSA (i.e., it could be a very dedicated parent). This award will be presented at the annual District Banquet.

*Only one person may be recognized per unit each year. **Submit your nomination to your Committee Chair or Unit Leader (CM, SM, or Advisor) for review/Unit Committee deliberation/voting. ***Nomination should be submitted by Committee Chair or the Unit Leader only.

Name of the Recipient ______ Unit type and number _____ Recipient's Position _____

Reason(s) for the Spark Plug Award:

Name and position of person submitting this form:

Your Phone number_____ Your e-mail _____

Date submitted _____ (Deadline for submittal: Jan 17, 2014)

If you have any questions please: *send e-mail to <u>karensutley@cox.net</u>, or *call Karen at (757) 209-7989

Submit to:Karen Sutley, CB District Recognition Chair, 315 Patriot Way
Yorktown, VA 23693ORORe-mail to:karensutley@cox.netORbring to Roundtable

District Award of Merit nomination form can be found on the Colonial Virginia Council Website in "Award Forms"



Per BSA, it is not appropriate to nominate a Scouter who has previously received this award.

L					
Chesapeake Bay RecipientsDistrict Award of Merit					
Kenneth Hampton	1973	Don Leeger	1997		
Samuel Tate	1973	Diane Andrews	1998		
Brock Robertson	1977	Drew Hagerman	1998		
Ruth Robertson	1977	Ernie Lane	1998		
Buck Rogers	1980	John Andrews	1999		
Clarence Terry	1980	Mike Allen	1999		
Joe Fudge	1986	Gordon Duey	1999		
Lee Norris	1986	Clyde Gregory	2000		
Jeanne Fudge	1987	Bill Mullen	2000		
Bill Monroe	1987	Gordon Williams	2000		
Phyllis Ayers	1989	Clay Drnec	2001		
Chet Luck	1989	David Maxwell	2001		
Mary Clark	1989	Bobby Wallis	2001		
Barry Green	1990	Cindy Claar	2002		
Bill Howell	1990	Margo Schaffer	2002		
Denny Barnhart	1991	Delores Stewart	2002		
John King	1991	Gerald Stewart	2003		
Bill Ayers	1991	John Garnett Knabe	2004		
Jimmy Carter	1992	Larry Johnson	2004		
Cindy Carter	1992	Karen Sutley	2005		
Peter Worthington	1993	Claudia Clifton	2005		
Al Burton	1993	Rich Clifton	2006		
Dale Jamison	1993	Rob Kutz	2006		
Donna Wray	1993	Fred Summer	2007		
Ron McQuigg	1994	Ron Davis	2007		
Bruce Wray	1994	Bob Baxter	2008		
Charles Conley	1994	Mike Walsh	2008		
Robert Boothe	1995	Mona Stotler	2009		
Wayne Johnson	1995	Dennis Newhouse	2009		
Georgia McQuigg	1995	Dion Fralick	2010		
George Claar	1996	Richard Pryor	2010		
Joe Dellapenta	1996	Thomas Goodman	2011		
Gregg Jones	1996	Christopher Hutson	2011		
Mary Boothe	1997	Libby Perdue	2012		
Colette Lane	1997	Larry Hahn	2012		
		-			