2014 Safe Driver of the Year Award Criteria

Application Process

To apply for the National Safety Council Safe Driver of the Year Award, submissions must be completed and returned to the NSC Attn: Motivations Dept., PO Box 679, Itasca, IL 60143 or faxed to 630-775-2185 by the close of business on **Wednesday, April 30, 2014.** All entries received after the deadline shall be declared ineligible.

<u>Criteria</u>

- This contest is only open to member organizations of the National Safety Council in good standing located in the United States and Canada.
- All data is self reported and is subject to verification.
- Nominees must be full-time drivers whose primary responsibility is to operate buses, trucks, passenger cars, or other motor vehicles on a regular basis in the performance of their normal duties.
- Drivers who have been involved in an incident during the award period will be declared ineligible, unless it is ruled as a non-preventable incident.
- Nominees <u>MUST</u> meet the minimum requirement of 15 years or 250,000 miles driven without a preventable incident to be considered.
- Previous winners of the Joseph M. Kaplan award will not be considered for the 2014 year.

Nominations

- Deadline for submissions is the close of business, April 30, 2014.
- Nominees must have been employed by the nominating Member Company for at least 1 year (12 consecutive months).
- Nominations must be made by someone familiar with the nominee's work history, such as a supervisor, coworker, or professional peer.
- Nominees CANNOT nominate themselves.
- Winners will be announced in June 2014. Notifications will be sent by <u>email</u> to nominators.

Recognition

Nominees must meet the minimum requirement of 15 years or 250,000 miles driven without a preventable incident to be considered for the Safe Driver of the Year Award and receive recognition.

- Nominees who meet the minimum requirement will receive the Safe Driver Award of Honor and will be automatically considered for the 2014 Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award.
- All qualifying nominees will receive a congratulatory letter and personalized certificate from the National Safety Council.
- All drivers who qualify will be divided into 10 Regions (see map on page 3).
- The 10 Regional Best winners will be recognized as a Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award winner. The awards are presented at the National Safety Council's Annual Awards Celebration to be held on September 16, 2014 in San Diego, California.
- Regional Best winners will receive 2 complimentary admissions to the celebration. Travel and lodging fees will be the responsibility of the nominating Member Company.

NSC USE ONLY	
ID#	
Region	
Award of Honor	
Regional Best Winner	
Does Not Qualify	

Deadline – April 30, 2014 CONTEST ENTRY FORM Photocopy if necessary.

Safe Driver of the Year Award Application

Each physical location must have its own separate Membership I.D. Number. Your Membership I.D. Number must correspond with your location address. If you do not know your Membership I.D., please contact the NSC Customer Relations Department at 1-800-621-7619.

SPELL AND PUNCTUATE YOUR COMPANY INFORMATION EXACTLY AS IT SHOULD APPEAR ON THE AWARD

SECTION A: NOMINATOR INFORMATION (please print)				
Date Submitted:		Membership ID # (of location):		
Company Name:				
Company Street Address (No PO Boxes):				
City:	State:	Zip:		
Application Submitted by:		Title:		
Phone:		Fax:		
Email (REQUIRED: Winners notified by email):				

This application should be prepared and returned by close of business on Wednesday, April 30, 2014 to the NSC attn: Motivation Dept., PO Box 679, Itasca, IL 60143 or fax to 630-775-2185. Winners will be notified by <u>email only</u> in June.

SECTION B: NOMINEE INFORMATION (please print)		
Driver name:	Region (see map):	
Total # of years driven without a preventable incident throughout career:	Total # miles driven without a preventable incident throughout career:	
# of safe driving years employed with current company:	# of safe driving years employed with previous company (if any):	
Total # of preventable incidents during career:	Type of vehicle(s) authorized to operate:	

Please write a brief statement that you feel is relevant for the consideration of this nominee. Additional pages may be submitted with this form.

wa МΤ ND PACIFIC MN MIDDLE SD ID WEST NORTH ATLANTI EAST NORTI w CENTRAL iA CENTRAL MOUNTAIN

NE

KS

ОК

WESTSOUTH

CENTRAL

τх

SAFE DRIVER OF THE YEAR REGIONS

Canadian

н ^тя

All provinces

East North Central

CA

w

υT

AZ

Illinois Indiana Michigan Ohio Wisconsin

East South Central

Alabama Kentucky Mississippi Tennessee

Middle Atlantic

New Jersey New York Pennsylvania

Mountain

co

NM

Arizona Colorado Idaho New Mexico Montana Utah Nevada Wyoming

New England

Connecticut Maine Massachusetts New Hampshire Rhode Island Vermont

Pacific Alaska California Hawaii Oregon Washington

мо

τN

CENTRAL

E

ÁSTISOUTHI

AL

South Atlantic

Delware Florida Georgia Maryland North Carolina South Carolina Virginia West Virginia

West North Central

lowa Kansas Minnesota Missouri Nebraska North Dakota South Dakota

ŚŎIJŦŀ

ATLANTIC

GA

sc

West South Central

Arkansas Louisiana Oklahoma Texas